Welcome to June.

Today marks the start of a new month, and to say that I am thrilled is an understatement. I’m positively giddy.

That’s not to say I didn’t have a wonderful May, or that I’m particularly looking forward to the month of June. I just find the start of a new month to be a joyful, liberating experience.

Perhaps it’s because for the first 22 years of my life, the turn of a new month meant a new song to sing (“Hoy es lunes, el siete de marzo…”), a new calendar page on the bulletin board, a new date to write at the top of my papers. It was a way for teachers and professors to break up the monotony of the school year, to remind their pupils that time was passing even though the clock seemed to stay still. We looked forward to remind ourselves that life was moving forward, even if we couldn’t see it.

As an adult, I mark the start of a new month with my own traditions. A new pair of contact lenses, a new parking pass to wrestle onto my rearview mirror, a few minutes updating my net worth on an Excel spreadsheet. Updating my iMac’s desktop to the next month’s calendar, courtesy of RedStamp. These are the small tasks that bring joy to me at the beginning of a new month, insignificant as they may be. They remind me that life is moving forward, even when things feel stagnant.

Welcome to June.

Leave a Reply

